Niall Thomas Night Sky Blue
April 6, 2018
Niall Thomas
Self Release
Producer: Karl Odlum and Niall Thomas
Number of discs: 1

Niall Thomas Night Sky Blue

Niall Thomas is a Dublin based Musician and Songwriter and has released two album’s  ‘Breathe Easy’ and Night Sky Blue in April 2018 receiving a glowing  ٭٭٭٭  from The Irish Times with comparisons being drawn to the late great John Martyn and Nick Drake. His first solo release ‘Breathe Easy’ saw comparisons drawn with Jeff Tweedy, Wilco, The Band, Bob Dylan and Crosby, Stills and Nash. Renowned for his guitar playing and a voice to enamour, Niall will be releasing his third studio album this Autumn 2024.

Press Reviews:

“Night Sky Blue is a heart-warming selection of tender songs about daily life, human resilience and love and loss in Dublin’s north inner city…….very pleasing shades of Nick Drake and John Martyn…. a moving paean to Dublin’s fair city, and life itself.”

★★★★   The Irish Times

“The songs demonstrate that  is a man who has a keen eye on the human condition…as these are  pieces of work displaying real depth and feeling……like many proper albums as opposed to collections of songs, this is one that takes a time to get to know and grows on the listener after a few plays. Very much in the style of Nick Drake, this will definitely be one for you if that is your thing.”

★★★★ Americana Uk

“With an engaging vocal style, his songs are in the main melancholic and moving, with more shade than light; although ‘Spillin’ Diamonds’ is an comes across like something from The Band’s Basement Tapes. The Dylan-esque title-track is another tune rooted in classic Americana while ‘Handle It’ could be a Crosby, Stills & Nash outtake… fine sounding record”


“haunting ruminations on fate and possibility…. a cut above”
Americana Uk

“vocals that have you hanging on every word…fantastic musicianship”

Album Credits:

All songs written by Niall Thomas
Produced by Karl Odlum and Niall Thomas
Engineered and Mixed by Karl Odlum
Mastered by John Golden in Golden Mastering, LA

Niall Thomas: Guitar and Vocals
Karl Odlum: Bass and Programming
Dave Hingerty: Drums
Kevin Murphy: Cello
Patrick Daly: Violin
Neev Kennedy: Vocals on ‘Wait and See’ & ‘Burrow’
Ann Scott: Vocals on ‘My Oh My’

Album Artwork Design by Micky Kelleher at

Original Photograph by Niall Thomas

Official Online Release Date: 6th April 2018

CDS available from 6th April from

@NiallThomas | Web Design by Bold&Brass